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State of Maine 
Office of the Secretary of State 

 
Application for a 

Marriage Officiant License 
 
 
 
 
Please read these instructions carefully before completing this application. The applicant must complete this entire 
application and all questions must be answered completely. 

 
 
Legal Name of applicant (first, middle, last, suffix)   

(Type or print name) 
 
 

Address of applicant: 
 

Home Address 
(Physical location - street, city/town, state, and zip code): 

Date of Birth:   
 

Contact Information: 
 
E-mail address:   

 

 
Mailing Address (if different) 

Home Telephone: (  ) -    

Work Telephone: ( ) -   

 
 

 

Other language fluency:   
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

I certify that the information contained in this application is true and correct; that the answers to the questions 
below are complete to the best of my knowledge and that I am a Maine resident at least 18 years of age. 

 
 

Signature of Applicant   Date:   
 
 

Printed Name of Applicant   

 
OFFICE USE ONLY 

 
Marriage Officiant License #: 

 
 

License issued: 
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1. To qualify for a marriage officiant license, you must
be: (check all that apply)

 A notary public
 At least 18 years of age
 A Maine resident
 An ordained minister

2. How many witnesses are required to sign the
marriage license?

 1
 2
 3
 4

3. Who can issue a Maine marriage license to a Maine
resident? (check all that apply)

 The municipal clerk where either party resides
 The state registrar
 The marriage officiant
 The Secretary of State

4. Who can issue a Maine marriage license to a
nonresident? (check all that apply)

 The municipal clerk of any town or city
 The state registrar
 The marriage officiant
 The Secretary of State

5. A marriage license is valid for 90 days.

 True
 False

6. A witness must be 18 years of age or older.

 True
 False

7. What is required to be provided to the marriage
officiant before the marriage can be solemnized?
(check all that apply)

 A valid marriage license
 Identification of the parties
 At least two witnesses
 All the above

8. Who must the completed marriage license be
filed with?

 The state registrar or municipal clerk
who issued the license

 The Secretary of State
 The clerk of court
 The marriage officiant retains the marriage

license

9. It is a conflict of interest for a marriage officiant to
solemnize a marriage for a family member.

 True
 False

10. How many days does a marriage officiant have to
notify the Secretary of State of any changes to
their name or contact information?

 20 days
 30 days
 45 days
 60 days
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11. When completing a marriage license, what color ink
pen should you use?

 Red ink
 Blue ink
 Black ink
 None of the above

12. When can the parties to be married sign the
marriage license? (check all that apply)

 At the time of issuance
 In the presence of the marriage officiant at the

time the marriage is solemnized
 The parties to be married do not have to sign

the license
 After the license has been recorded with the

municipality that issued it

13. The Secretary of State may suspend or revoke a
marriage officiant’s license for failure to comply
with the laws or rules of this state.

 True
 False

14. A marriage officiant must retain a record of all
marriages solemnized.

 True
 False

15. Who must return the completed marriage license for
recording once the marriage is solemnized?

 A family member of the parties united in
marriage

 One of the parties united in marriage
 The marriage officiant who solemnized the

marriage
 None of the above

16. How many days are allowed for the completed
marriage license to be returned for filing?

 14 working days
 30 working days
 7 working days
 None of the above

Application Fee: $25.00 

Please remit your payment made payable to the Treasurer, State of Maine and submit this application to: 

Secretary of State 
Division of Corporations, UCC and Commissions 
101 State House Station 
Augusta, ME 04333-0101 
Telephone Inquiries: (207) 624-7752 
Email Inquiries: CEC.Notaries@Maine.gov 

mailto:CEC.Notaries@Maine.gov
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